Beverley High School logo
Inspiring a love of learning

“Inspiring a love of learning”

‘The lessons and the teachers are really good and I’ve made so many more friends since starting the sixth form’ Emily, Year 12

‘I’ve been able to achieve a level of independence but still rely on the support of staff I know when I’ve needed it’ Beth, Year 13

‘To begin with I was nervous about meeting new people but everyone has been welcoming. The subjects I chose are right for me and the teachers are helpful. Coming here was the right decision’ A new student who started in Yr 12

“I taught in several schools and I was only blessed with sons but I firmly believe that if I had a daughter I would want her to go to this school because I am aware at first hand of the dedication of all of its staff to the care and education of the girls. This school does realise that it is precious cargo that it carries.” A former teacher

The new GCSE Grading system

The GCSE grading system has changed from alphabetical grades to numerical grades as part of Government’s move to make the system more rigorous and raise standards. Unfortunately, not all subjects changed at the same time which caused considerable confusion. This process is now complete and all subjects are on the new GCSE system with the exception of L2 Further Maths which has an alphabetical grading system for one last year.

The new 1-9 grades do not line-up with the old grades. The graphic below shows the equivalents. N.B. BEWARE, A ‘4’ MAY BE A ‘C’ BUT THE NEW GOLD STANDARD IS A ‘5’!

Ofqual GCSE grades 1-9

 The lower 4 grades are being reducing to just 3 grades and the B/C and A/A* are becoming 3 grades each. Broadly the same proportion of pupils will get a 4+ as currently achieve a C. This means less pupils will achieve the Gold standard which is now a 5 (approx. B-). The grade 9 is the top 20% of 7+ grades and is higher than any current grade. This reflects the increased emphasis on differentiating between the higher grades and raising the bar.