Beverley High School logo
Inspiring a love of learning

“Inspiring a love of learning”

‘The lessons and the teachers are really good and I’ve made so many more friends since starting the sixth form’ Emily, Year 12

‘I’ve been able to achieve a level of independence but still rely on the support of staff I know when I’ve needed it’ Beth, Year 13

‘To begin with I was nervous about meeting new people but everyone has been welcoming. The subjects I chose are right for me and the teachers are helpful. Coming here was the right decision’ A new student who started in Yr 12

“I taught in several schools and I was only blessed with sons but I firmly believe that if I had a daughter I would want her to go to this school because I am aware at first hand of the dedication of all of its staff to the care and education of the girls. This school does realise that it is precious cargo that it carries.” A former teacher

Modern Foreign Languages

Meet the teachers:

Mrs B Lawrence - Head of Modern Foreign Languages - b.lawrence@beverleyhigh.net

Mrs L Butler - Deputy Head of Modern Foreign Languages - l.butler@beverleyhigh.net

Miss L Baker - Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages - l.baker@beverleyhigh.net

Mrs J Wilson - Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages - j.wilson@beverleyhigh.net

Miss C Gardiner - Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages - c.gardiner@beverleyhigh.net

Mr N Young - Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages - n.young@beverleyhigh.net

 

All pupils follow a two year course in a Foreign Language in Years 10 and 11.

Both the French and German courses build on the skills already gained in Key Stage 3 and aim to develop the ability to use the language for practical communication. There will be practice in Listening and Reading, and pupils will also develop their skills to communicate in the spoken and written language. It is hoped that pupils will enjoy their study of a European Language and come to a greater understanding of the country involved.

 

GCSE exam

The exam is made up of 4 sections all equally weighted at 25%. Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing. Students will be assessed at the end of year 11 and all exams are taken in the same tier- i.e. all Foundation or all Higher.

Please click on this link for more detailed information